The Dallas Cowboys franchise's long and illustrious history

The Dallas Cowboys were established as an expansion team in 1960. The team was awarded to businessman Clint Murchison Jr. and initially played its home games at the Cotton Bowl. 

The Cowboys' fortunes changed dramatically with the hiring of head coach Tom Landry in 1960. Landry, known for his innovative strategies and the development of the 4-3 defense, would become synonymous with the franchise, coaching the team for 29 seasons until 1988. 

 The Cowboys earned the moniker "America's Team" due to their widespread popularity and fan base across the United States. Their success on the field and exposure through nationally televised games helped solidify this identity.

The Cowboys have won five Super Bowl championships, tied for second-most in NFL history. They won Super Bowls VI (1971), XII (1977), XXVII (1992), XXVIII (1993), and XXX (1995), establishing themselves as one of the league's premier franchises. 

Throughout their history, the Cowboys have featured numerous Hall of Fame players, including Roger Staubach, Bob Lilly, Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith, Michael Irvin, and Larry Allen, among others. These players contributed to the team's success and left a lasting legacy.

The Cowboys have intense rivalries with several NFL teams, including the Washington Football Team, Philadelphia Eagles, and New York Giants. These matchups often attract significant attention and are among the most anticipated games of the season. 

In 1989, businessman Jerry Jones purchased the Dallas Cowboys, ushering in a new era for the franchise. Under Jones' ownership, the Cowboys continued to experience success on the field while also becoming one of the most valuable sports franchises in the world. 

While the Cowboys have experienced periods of success, including playoff appearances and division titles, they have also faced challenges and rebuilding phases. However, the team remains a perennial contender and a cornerstone of the NFL landscape.